Don’t Be Afraid To Ask. The Answer Isn’t Always ‘No’….Or….. If You Don’t Ask, You Don’t Get.

As humans, we’re predisposed to ‘not ask’ when we need to, or even want to, and this little character trait of ours’ can stop us living life fully. In some cases, it can impede us on our life’s path……how would you feel, if your reticence ‘to ask’ meant you didn’t; fulfil your destiny, or make a longed-for success of your life?

Unfortunately, we expect to get a negative answer, no matter our question, and irrespective of who we’re asking. But, is that our problem, and not theirs? Does our pride get in the way? Or, is it a feeling of insecurity, or even ‘unwarranted’ paranoia?

Question

Has there ever been something you’ve wanted to attempt, but not gathered the courage to do it, because it would mean ‘asking’ for something?

I felt that way myself, many years back, when I wanted to test my talents with psychometry on ancient artefacts. I’d always had an interest in Archaeology (and, still do), but I didn’t know how to combine both these things. So, what did I do…….I emailed major London museums, asking if I’d be allowed to experiment with any of their exhibits. Some replied, some didn’t, but imagine my surprise, when a curator at the most renowned of all; ‘The British Museum’ gave me a resounding ‘Yes!”

British MUseum

British Museum

An appointment was made, and to my astonishment; I was allowed behind the scenes of hallowed halls, and even permitted to ‘touch’ some extremely valuable relics.

Firstly, I was permitted to visit a workroom behind their Egyptian rooms and presented with a small assortment of relics, obviously not too valuable, and primarily; pieces of building work, or glassware…….unfortunately, the results weren’t stupendous. However, I was then shown to a locked, secure room behind the Roman Coins collection. What an honour that was. Truly, an incredible experience!  Lingering in that safe room, for approximately an hour with a member of the museum staff nearby, I handled coins that I’ve only ever seen behind glass, and the results there, surpassed even my expectations.

It’s an experience, that I’ll never forget, no matter how old I become.  I would never have had this amazing opportunity if I hadn’t ‘asked’. So, if there’s something you want to try, and you’re fretting over it, Just ‘ask’. Even if your respondent says no, at least you’ll have the satisfaction of knowing, you were brave enough to enquire in the first place.

The Colosseum, Rome

The Colosseum, Rome

Leave a Reply

