What Will Have An Impact On Your Heart?

I’ve just spent two days caring for a beautiful baby, Rainbow Lorikeet that came into my possession very unexpectedly, and even though I only had it for a short time, it left an indelible impression on my heart.

One of my sisters and a niece had been walking one evening, and discovered this young bird sat on a grassy verge, they left it alone believing it’s mother was nearby, but four days later when the fledgling was still there they called me……I’m the ‘obsessive’ animal person in our family group.

Over the next few days, I cosseted, and fed this lovely creature, at times believing it may die, all the while knowing that I should pass its care over to someone more experienced in Australian native wildlife. When it cried; I held it until it settled and stopped shivering. I ensured it was safe and warm at night, and I fed it apricot nectar until it had a smile on its face……all the while knowing; this had to be a short-term connection for the baby’s own well-being.

After two days, I convinced myself to call our local RSPCA who advised that they would be able to pass my charge onto a Wildlife shelter that they regularly dealt with, so like a responsible person I passed my baby over………but……I do miss him.

After giving him up, I wanted to discover why spirit had sent this little one to me, and found that these beautiful rainbow coloured birds are symbolic of:

  • Wonderful communication skills – my little fella was very vocal.
  • Connection to the rainbow – maybe my friend, was sent to bring more colour to my world.
  • The capacity, to see another’s viewpoint, or opinion – my little one reminded me how; someone else would be able to care for him better.
  • Love of language – writing this post, enabled me to get back to my blog after a few weeks away.
  • Helps you make the right choice – I did that, when I gave him up.
  • Recognition of one’s soul mate – I did love this little bird, and a soul mate can come in all shapes and sizes, and it does not have to mean a romantic relationship.

I was very surprised at the impact this tiny creature had on my heart after such a short period of time, because I’m the person that’s always; dog-sitting, or bird-feeding, or animal-rescuing, so maybe spirit just wanted to remind me that we not only need to care for each other, but also for all the creatures of the world, no matter how big or small.

Just to end this post, I must say; guess who’s already rung both the RSPCA and the Wildlife shelter to check on her little baby bird, and it’s not even been 24 hours?

http://www.rspca.org.au/

http://www.darlingrangewildlife.com.au/

3 thoughts on “What Will Have An Impact On Your Heart?

  1. Hi Julie 😀 Oooh ! Isn’t he a sweetheart ! I am so pleased to hear that your family found him and you took him under your wing. *cluck*. AND then you turned him over to the professionals. I can imagine how upset you were ! I hope they will release him when he’s better and big enough 😀

  2. Morning Ralph 🙂 Sorry for such a late reply, my life kind’ve ran away with me for a few days…..you’re right my little lorikeet was a darling, and he gave me an idea for some short stories, but would you believe; when I rang the wildlife shelter, they told me they don’t know where he is…….what?. I’m hoping he’s with a home carer, but will be ringing them again tomorrow. I’m going to be a lorikeet stalker until I locate him. Take Care, Julie x 🙂

  3. Pingback: Definitely Not; Bird-brained. | An Unexpected Life Chosen

Leave a Reply

