My New Motto – Live A Life with No Regrets!

During a family get together yesterday, conversation turned to an in-law of mine who recently had a cancer scare, and subsequently made dramatic changes to her life…….my first thought; was to applaud her bravery, rather than worry about the impact her sea change would have on her being perceived, as a ‘responsible’ person.

Sometimes we worry too much about; being a grown-up. We spend our lives trying to do the accepted thing. Trying to live our lives to other people’s expectations, and then we reach our older years, with regrets for the things that might-have-been.

Eagle creativity

Do you have a dream or a goal, you’re not pursuing?

Do you have an idea; only to find friends and relatives, tell you “you can’t do that’?

Do you worry that, minor risks you might only be; considering taking, could upset the status quo?

Do you put another person’s wants & needs, before your own?

If you do find yourself doing any of these things, I’m going to ask you a question, I’ve just asked myself: Why?

Dreams

When you reach your last few days of this life; would you like to look back over the years and think: “That was one hell of ride” or would you prefer to think “Well, like a good girl/boy, I did everything that was asked of me”?

So many people leave this earth prematurely, whether by accident, or design, and sometimes; very unexpectedly. (This occurred to my own; much-missed father, and I’m sure he had regrets).

Imagine how many dreams they didn’t get the opportunity to achieve?

Wouldn’t you like to live a dream for one of them?

If something is nagging at you, something you’ve pushed aside, no matter how big or small, wouldn’t you like to pull it out of its attic, and at least; give it a try? Even if you fail, you’ll know you did your best, and that’s an accomplishment in itself.

So my challenge to you is; try to live a life without regrets. And for those, who always dreamed of owning their own inn/bed & breakfast/small hotel have a look at this competition on The Write Life website.

http://thewritelife.com/write-a-great-essay-win-this-maine-inn/

Dream catcher

8 thoughts on “My New Motto – Live A Life with No Regrets!

  1. A very wise post Julie. My life has been a roller coaster. If I changed one slightest thing I wouldn’t be here commenting now. So I’m happy ! 😀 ❤

    • Hi sweets,
      I just think, so may people; don’t become what they could, because they worry about; this & that. We all have incredible talents, that we either don’t know about or we waste…..how sad is that?
      Having a roller coaster life, is an achievement in itself, so remember to pat yourself on the back occasionally.

      PS; you’re very kind not to mention the typos…..I saw them…..a few years back., I broke my right wrist, and during healing contracted a dystrophy-type disease in my hands. After intensive Occupational therapy, my hands are 90% normal, but at times, my fingers are a bit painful/stiff.

      Take care sweets ❤

  2. Very nice post Julie, you addressed everything in it. Ralph is asking about your hands Julie, are you having a problem? Pls. let me know.

Leave a Reply

