Follow Your ‘Own’ Star

“Follow Your Own Star”           

                    Dante Alighieri (1265 – 1321)

It was recently suggested to me rather vehemently, that being a writer wasn’t work, and couldn’t be considered a ‘good’ job, although, I know; the person expressing their opinion, would be one of the first people, to join the celebratory queue, should I attain fame, or; when I rake in stacks of money.

And, several years ago, some people weren’t too impressed when I began to walk an alternative spiritual path, although it was a different matter; when I was interviewed for a feature piece on psychics, by a well-known UK magazine.

I’ve even had one colleague – in the financial arena – nickname me ‘The Nutter’ because of my beliefs, I will admit, though, he always did it to my face, not behind-my-back, unlike some people, who were less; non-judgemental, and considered me lacking in little grey cells.

But, what a lot of these detractors don’t know is; I’ve also sat the UK Mensa tests and I even have the certificates to prove; my intelligence; ranks in the; well-above-average range..  I didn’t attain membership, but I am eligible to do a re-sit when I want – maybe I will, maybe I won’t, who knows?

I’ve also been a ‘good girl’ and trod the management path, whilst working 12 hour days, I’ve worked in various ‘orthodox’ industries, ranging from; retail to banking. At one stage I was even employed by the Australian Tax Office (how conventional is that?) but it didn’t make me a; better or happier person, what it did do; was made me realise……….I prefer to be slightly eccentric and off-the-wall.

I like to create something with my own hands, or by using my brain.

I really do have an innate curiosity, which means, I like to have adventures, sometimes into the unknown, and I definitely…..

Like to; follow my own star, not the one someone else dictated to me.

So the next time; you find yourself judging someone for their choices, or their; traditions, beliefs, sexuality, or; if you’re pooh-poohing someone’s dreams, or goals, remember…

Never judge a book by its cover, there could be more going on inside, than you know and, more importantly…..

Everyone, you included, has the Spirit-given right to; Follow Their Own Star!

Star

3 thoughts on “Follow Your ‘Own’ Star

Leave a Reply

