Is Your Soul Tired? If So, Make 2016 The Year Of YOU!!

My day started, with me being; overwhelmed by a tsunami of someone else’s discontent – this was even before, I’d had my first cuppa.

I sat for 30 minutes listening to gripes & groans, about how this person wasn’t happy with their life, and the changes they wanted to make, and it made me realise……

My Soul; Is Tired!

rose-76734_960_720

If, like me, you’re a listener, a volunteer, a doer-for-others, then perhaps you’ve also reached the same point in life I have, whereby; you want to ask; as the song says, “What about me? It isn’t fair!”

What About Me? Moving Pictures.

I’m not meaning to sound; selfish, self-centred, or even unwilling to help, because I’ll gladly do anything for anyone, in fact, I enjoy doing things for other people and am a great, believer, in being an instigator, when; paying-it-forward.

I find it natural to help someone else, and I’m sure many of you feel the same but has it occurred to any of us ‘givers’ it’s very easy to be taken for granted, and sometimes, we forget; what’s best for ‘You’.

orange-135931_960_720

To give you some recent, examples from my own life…….

Whilst walking back from the gym this morning; an acquaintance gave me a brand-new bookcase. It was small but lovely, and I carried this gift, several hundred yards home, only; to automatically offer it to my mother, who expressed a liking for it – Being a ‘giver’, it was an innate reaction to do this, even though; I wanted the item myself  (fortunately, mum said no, but I would’ve gladly handed it over).

Then, a few days ago, I was talking to a young nephew & niece, who I see infrequently, as they live in another state when they asked if they could feed the ducks. I enquired of them, would this be permissible with their father (he was absent at the time) only to be told “Daddy said you’d take us to the lake, to feed the ducks”…….I was happy to do it, but was disconcerted; to discover myself being volunteered without any actual input.

flower-314522_960_720

If this, or similar situations occur in your life, like me; you must remember…….

This; is Your Life! 

And, you too, are entitled to choices.

You can help whomever, whenever, but not at the detriment to self.

You deserve better, and ‘are’ the most valuable person in your life.

Remember; gratitude is something, ‘you’ are also entitled too.

Don’t get, me wrong; doing-for-others, can be a wonderful experience, in fact, I had another incident, recently, whereby I happily pitched in, and not only enjoyed it immensely, but I learnt something new, which may aid me, in a future venture. I also received a lovely expression of thanks.

flower-652776_960_720.jpgTo give; an abridged version……

I received a random phone call from a lady (Lynne) in Canada, who was looking for some childhood friends, she’d known in Perth 50 years ago.  It transpired they had my surname, and Lynne was hoping to visit them, during a future trip – therefore, I took it upon myself to do some research online, and ‘may’ have located these people for her, after discovering their marital names……I’m still awaiting confirmation that they’re the correct people, but even so, the task was no hardship, at all.

Flower 2.jpg

Misquoting the Bible, what I’m trying to say with this post, is;

Do unto You, As, you would wish done, unto Others.

In Other Words:

Don’t Forget You!!!  

And, Make 2016 ‘The Year Of You!!’

17 thoughts on “Is Your Soul Tired? If So, Make 2016 The Year Of YOU!!

  1. Beautiful post and beautiful images, I couldn’t agree more with what you say. I’ve learned to stay away from the people who deplete my energy, the moaners, the malcontents and the ones who rarely listen (because my problems/issues/thoughts/feelings are never as important or urgent as theirs and where I think afterwards: wow, during the whole ‘conversation’ I was hardly allowed to utter two sentences…
    here is to us! only if we put our own well-being first are we able to really help and empower others.
    have a lovely day dear,
    Dagmar

  2. Hi Julie 😀 Yes, looking after yourself is so important to your own well being. Go and have your coffee first and maybe offer that person one 😀 ❤

Leave a Reply

