Don’t Settle!

Four weeks ago, I started a new daytime job, and whilst the people are very nice, and the salary always comes in handy, it’s not the position I applied for or the hours I wanted, yet – I accepted their offer when it was made, and for the moment, I’m remaining in the role, because……

Perhaps, it has something to teach me.

Although, within a week of commencing the position; I tore 3 ligaments in my left foot, an injury which is still hampering my life. This includes; no gym, and as it’s a sit-down role, I’m becoming stir crazy.  Aaaaagghhhh!!

Not, a full 2 weeks later, I contracted a horrendous cold, which I’m still suffering from, and unfortunately, my contracted hours do not allow for much else in my life, and I’ve temporarily given up many things I enjoy.

Not forgetting, the intensive training, which the role requires, ensuring I’m too tired when I get home, to even want; to pick up my laptop…..as you can imagine; my emails are taking on a life of their own.

(It also has, too many rules & regulations to suit me – I feel like I’ve lost my freedom).

As time’s been passing, I’ve come to the conclusion, that; I’m doing what’s expected, or; what’s considered socially acceptable, because it’s the right thing to do. And, in the process; my life is passing me by, whilst; I’m settling for something I don’t want.

Perhaps, this was the lesson, I needed to learn – My life, is exactly that; “My Life” and I shouldn’t; Settle!

So…….I’ve set my inner-self a time limit, and made a vow, and you’re all welcome to hold me to it.

By the end of September or, preferably; June; I will have moved on from this position, and not only found something better, but it’ll  also be more fitting for accomplishing my own life’s dream, and I’m hoping that those of you in similar situations, will do the same.

Find Your Dream, and Live It!

(PS: I haven’t forgotten you.  And, thank you to those, who haven’t forgotten me either).

Dont Settle

 

6 thoughts on “Don’t Settle!

  1. Oh no ! I hope your ligaments are better and so is your cold. Colds seem to go on forever nowadays. Yuk ! Happy Tuesday Julie 😀 ❤

  2. I hear you Julie. You had good intentions to pick up this offer, and it did teach you lessons.., sometimes we need to get to the other side to see what we had and/or what we are about. Everything happens for a reason, I’m sure a lady as wise as you are, you’d find the answer within.

    Kind regards,

    Viv X

Leave a Reply

